2011-12 NFL Awards

Comeback Player of the Year:

Matthew Stafford QB Detroit Lions (421-623, 5,038 yards and 41 touchdowns)

Stafford led the Lions to playoffs for the first time since 1999.

Defensive Rookie of the Year:

Von Miller LB Denver Broncos (50 tackles and 11.5 sacks)

Miller was a dominating force in Denver with 11.5 sacks.

Offensive Rookie of the Year:

Cam Newton QB Carolina Panthers (4,051 yards, 21 touchdowns, 126 carries, 706 yards and 14 touchdowns)

Newton was the dual threat the Panthers envisioned, throwing for 21 touchdowns and running for 14.

Coach of the Year:

Jim Harbaugh 49ers (13-3 record, NFC West Champions and beat Saints in Divisional Round)

Harbaugh turned the 49ers around from 6-10 the previous season and led them to playoffs for the first time since 2002.

Defensive Player of the Year:

Terrell Suggs LB Baltimore Ravens (50 tackles, 14 sacks and 2 interceptions)

Suggs had 14 sacks for the AFC North champion Ravens.

Offensive Player of the Year:

Drew Brees QB Saints (468-657, 5,476 yards and 46 touchdowns)

Brees broke Dan Marino's single season passing record of 5,084 yards this season.


Aaron Rodgers QB Packers (343-502, 4,643 yards and 45 touchdowns)

Rodgers led the Packers to a 15-1 record.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s