Larkin Heads Class Into Cooperstown

Larkin has joined the halls of baseball’s immortals.

The historic halls of baseball’s greats have opened its doors and invited three more men into their fraternity. Barry Larkin, Ron Santo and Tim McCarver head the class of 2012 into Cooperstown. Larkin played 19 seasons for the Reds, he was a 12-time all-star, 3-time gold glover and the 1995 NL MVP.  Santo was a Cub for 15 seasons, making 9 all-star games and winning 5 gold gloves. He was selected by the Veteran’s committee after being snubbed for many years. Tim McCarver is the 2012 recipient of the Ford C Frick Award for baseball broadcasting excellence. McCarver has broadcasted since 1980 for NBC, ABC and currently works for Fox covering Saturday and playoff games with Joe Buck.

Larkin was a 12-time all-star.

Barry Larkin career statistics

Santo won 5 gold gloves over his 15 seasons in Chicago.

Ron Santo career statistics

McCarver has been broadcasting games since 1980.


2 thoughts on “Larkin Heads Class Into Cooperstown

  1. I thought McCarver was already in. Don’t tell me Joe Buck is…

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s