Melky Cabrera Suspended 50 Games

Cabrera will miss the rest of the 2012 season after using an illegal testosterone supplement.

The San Francisco Giants offensive MVP this season was handed a crushing blow Wednesday. Cabrera was suspended  50 games for testing positive for testosterone.  He was batting .346 with 11 home runs and 60 runs batted in and was the 2012 All Star Game MVP. Cabrera was the first big name player since Alex Rodriguez to be found using illegal supplements.

The other major leaguer that was found guilty this season was Phillies second baseman/shortstop Freddie Galvis.  Cabrera is in eighth season in the majors, spending time with the Yankees, Braves, Royals and Giants. He was very remorseful saying, “My positive test was the result of my use of a substance I should not have used,” “I accept my suspension under the Joint Drug Program and I will try to move on with my life. I am deeply sorry for my mistake and I apologize to my teammates, to the San Francisco Giants organization and to the fans for letting them down.” He will miss the last 45 games of the regular season and the first five of next season, but will be eligible for the post season. Steroid and illegal supplement use has been down since the new drug policy has been in effect. Positive tests like Cabrera’s, make it known that players are still trying to get an unfair advantage.

Cabrera is the biggest star busted since A-Rod.

Freddie Galvis was the other big leaguer that was suspended this season.

Leave a Reply

