The NHL Makes Realignment Official


Here’s some news to keep you cool, the NHL has finally revealed the division names for the realigned league.  Next season each conference will have two divisions, two eight team divisions in the Eastern Conference and two seven team divisions in the Western Conference.  The biggest change for the league is the Detroit Red Wings shifting for the Western conference to the Eastern Conference.  Also shifting from the West to the East are the Columbus Blue Jackets.

Here are the four divisions and the teams included in them:


Metropolitan Division:

Pittsburgh Penguins

Washington Capitals

Philadelphia Flyers

New York Rangers

New York Islanders

New Jersey Devils

Carolina Hurricanes

Columbus Blue Jackets

Atlantic Division:

Toronto Maple Leafs

Montreal Canadians

Ottowa Senators

Buffalo Sabres

Boston Bruins

Detroit Red Wings

Florida Panthers

Tampa Bay Lightning




Chicago Blackhawks

Colorado Avalanche

Dallas Stars

Winnipeg Jets

Minnesota Wild

Nashville Predators

St. Louis Blues


Vancouver Canucks

Calgary Flames

Edmonton Oilers

San Jose Sharks

Los Angeles Kings

Pheonix Coyotes

Anahiem Ducks

The 2013 NHL season starts October 1 with three games including the Stanley Cup champion Chicago Blackhawks beginning their title defense against the Washington Capitals.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s